I was shocked to learn of the death of one of my personal heroes – Stephen Covey – the man whom this blog is really all about. It has taken years for me to truly understand and grasp the fundamental truth of his teachings. And now that I have become enlightened with his wisdom, I can honestly say, I am a more effective person.

Covey passed away very early this past Monday morning due to complications from a bicycle accident that occurred in April of this year. He was 79, and too young to leave this world, a world that so cries out for leadership. It is ironic that Dr. Covey passed at 79, as his writings give an example of thinking about what you, as an individual, would like family, friends, and coworkers to say about you at your 80th birthday celebration. Perhaps there is underlying meaning in Covey’s passing so early. I would like to think that the great Creator, quite possibly, is sending the message, that this man led a life too extraordinary …

The world will be a poorer place without Dr. Covey. But Covey’s own teachings teach us to “be proactive”, and work on our own legacy…

